Wow! Asian Vegan Dinner was just what the doctor ordered

Hello, this is the Tenant again. I haven’t been fully myself since about the middle of last Friday night–had a combination of flu and cold and some such thing, bad enough to dampen my appetite (which doesn’t happen often). Well, I can tell you what brought it back: Vegan Night at the Bistro.

I was hesitant to sign up for dinner this time because I was afraid with my appetite, I wouldn’t be able to do it justice. But by Thursday evening I was feeling just better enough that I took a chance. Maybe it was that irresistible scent of ginger and lemongrass wafting up from the kitchen that turned the tide for me–I’m a sucker for Asian food. Whatever it was, I’m glad I did. This time I asked Ruth if she could prepare me a “to go” to take to my apartment and eat there, and although I did take pictures of it, I’m not really pleased with them so I’m skipping the visuals this time. If you weren’t there, you’re just going to have to take my word for it, but believe me, this one was delicious.

Things started off wonderfully with the Lemongrass-Ginger-Miso Soup with Shiitake Mushroom Wontons. Few things taste better when you’re not quite up to snuff than soup, and this hot, fragrant soup hit just the right note with its miso broth, delicate mushroom-stuffed wontons, bright asparagus spears and slices of lotus root. It just felt good right down to the toes.

The Panko-Nori and Sesame-Crusted Eggplant Cutlets were crisp and tasty, lying on their bed of jasmine rice mixed with sauteed Asian veggies and topped with the Edamame–Mint Sauce (which looked rather like bright green wasabi paste; thank goodness it doesn’t have any of the heat of wasabi paste!). One bite of this and I felt as if I were at a fantastic Chinese restaurant instead of in my apartment. Amazing! Not only did it restore my appetite, I felt as if I could’ve eaten another plateful.

Finally, there was the Coconut–Mint Panna Cotta with Fresh Berry Garnish. Mm-mm. I love coconut and I love berries, so this was ideal for me as well, and even a bit comforting with its cool puddinglike texture made tangy by rich berry sauce.

No doubt about it–this vegan dinner was good for what ailed me. Thanks, Ruth and Jakub! Looking forward to what you come up with next!

Leave a Reply

